I Went to Talk with God

” And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Matthew 25:40

I said, “God, I’m going into that room to be alone with you.”

And he said “I will meet you there.”

But my wife was already there, tapping away at the laptop, a distraction I could overcome with a little concentration. Maybe recite a verse. I stretched on the plush carpet and settled in.

Our Father who art…

Then my daughter entered and chatted idly with her mother. It was about the school day. Who likes who. Who doesn’t know it yet. She doesn’t really like anyone, it turns out. I mean, she’s friends with boys and everything but nothing like a “boyfriend.”

Our father who art in heaven…

What about so and so, says Mom. He’s a cutey. Mom! She says. He’s your crush not mine! They laugh. Laughing is a hard distraction to overcome. But concentrate. Rest.

Hallowed be thy name… She’s growing up, this girl of mine. This girl of Thine. She’s a young woman now.

Then my oldest son comes in. Now it’s Grand Central Station. Talk of homework. Driver’s Ed is coming up. And now my daughter is irritated with his interruption. And Mom says sorry, I have a million things going on now. The room is all noise and need.

There will be no talking with you today, God, not here, not now. This family you’ve given me. You see how it is. Sometimes it’s just impossible.

 

Sheldon Lawrence is an award winning essayist and author of the recent novel “Hearts of the Fathers: A story of Heaven, Hell, and the hope of new life after life,” available here

4 thoughts on “I Went to Talk with God

    • Ha ha….yeah…there is all that. I was just trying to make the point that being with the people in our life is in someway the same as being with God.

      Like

Leave a Reply

